Crossed by Ally Condie by Samuel Justice

Crossed by Ally Condie

Summary from jessicalawlor.com

 

 

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky – taken by the Society to his certain death – only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander – who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart – change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

 

 

Think of being in love? What would you do if the person you loved was taken from you? How far would you go to find them? Find out how Cassia goes in the novel Crossed by Ally Condie. This is the second book of the Matched series. Characters in this book are challenged by their dystopian home, The Society, who control every aspect of everyone’s life. What would you do? Go on with them making your calls or do something about it. This is what the characters must answer. I enjoyed this novel including its themes, setting, and vocabulary.

 

One thing that I enjoyed in this novel was its themes. Two however really stood out to me. The first is do not take what you have for granite. In the book some things we thing as perhaps busy work or do not even give a second glance at are really important to the characters. For example, poetry, art and thing like this have been taken from the characters, and what remains must be hidden. The other theme I think stand out is love. That is what the entire book is basically about. The characters go through war, pain, hunger and many other hardships for it. These are the themes I think are the most important.

 

I also enjoyed the settings of the book, and it really meant a lot to the characters as well. For example the carving, which is a canton, represents freedom as The Society does not have full control over it. Other things that have to do with setting are the locations from which the characters are from. It has made them into the people that they are. Overall I would say that the settings in this book really make it great. These are ways the settings play important roles in the book.

 

One of the things that make the book is its vocabulary. It too also has effect on the characters. For example the vocabulary in the poems the characters have. They show rebellion, love, hope, and freedom which is what the characters are going on. It gives them hope for something better, and that maybe they can be a part of it. Also vocabulary which is acquired from pictures is important to the characters. For example pictures of angels, dances, and beautiful images gives the characters a better vocabulary which is something else we take for granite. This is how I believe the vocabulary plays an important role in the book

 

In the end I thought the book was a bit slow delivering its point, but I still enjoyed it and am planning on reading the third book of the series. I recommend this book to people who like books such as The Hunger Games. So far this book has delivered a similar message in a way that I have enjoyed. If you like a dystopian novel with a good fight every now and then then this is the book for you. Make sure to read the first one though. Using theme, setting, and strong vocabulary Ally Condie has written a true winner in her book Crossed.

5 responses

  1. Hello, Samuel! I wanted to start off by saying good job!

    I think your introduction paragraph really captures the reader’s attention. Asking readers thought provoking questions about their own life can really captivate someone’s attention. The way you presented these questions and connected it to the book is a great way to begin your book review!

    I have a few suggestions for your writing. I think you did a great job presenting the book, however, make sure to watch your punctuation choices. For example, I think you should have used a period after your opening sentence instead of using a question mark. However, I could tell you wanted the reader to wonder about your statement, so I believe by using the question mark you may have been trying to create that effect. Also, watch your word choices. In your second and fourth paragraphs you used the word “granite”, but I think you meant to say “granted”. Furthermore, when moving from paragraph to paragraph, try to link them together with transitional sentences to make your writing flow. These are quick fixes and are common mistakes- everyone does it!

    Though you had some grammatical errors, you presented this review well. I would like to suggest in paragraph 3 to explain more in depth about the setting. Could you further explain how the setting represents who the characters are and why it makes such an impact in the book? I think if you elaborate just a little bit here you could have a more detailed paragraph!

    Lastly, I loved your concluding paragraph! I thought you really wrapped up the paper well here, especially by connecting it to another book. This connection you made can actually convince people to read this book based on their opinions of The Hunger Games. It was a great comparison!

  2. Hello, Samuel!

    Very nice to meet you! I thought you did a good job on your review, especially when it came to your recommendations. They were definitely well thought out! Here are some of the pros and cons I saw overall:

    Pros: Good job sticking to the review layout. I easily found your main points, as well as a great hook in your introduction paragraph. I found your points to be well thought out, and meaningful to you as a reader. I felt like you truly enjoyed your book, which is also good. I have not read this book (yet) but I found your review convincing and persuasive, which are good qualities to have in a book review.

    Cons: Definitely consider reading over your writing and editing mistakes. Although your ideas are great, punctuation and grammar errors take away from the effectiveness of your writing. Be sure to look over your next review, because I think it could help avoid this issue. Although you had a good start to your ideas, some of your descriptions were not very clear. I would suggest explaining your thoughts more on your body paragraphs.

    Again, I cannot stress how great your recommendation section was! Not only did you name off a book title for readers to relate general interest and content to, you gave a specific genre of interest to relate it to. You also encouraged the reader to read others in the series prior to this specific novel. Very good!

    Overall, great job! Please feel free to ask for any help and advice you need. 🙂

  3. I would like to thank you both for your helpful advice. I will read over my review next time before I post it and see if I have any vocabulary or punctuation errors.I see what I have done wrong and will try my best to fix it, and apply it in by next review. The things that you have brought up seem to be the same as what my teacher has told me to correct. I hope in my next review I can correct them.
    -Samuel

    1. Samuel,

      I follow what Celeste has said. You have great potential, and further writing will only improve your work and your abilities. I am glad that I have been able to help. Keep in mind, rereading is a major habit to form early on in your writing career that will help you avoid easy punctuation, sentence, and vocabulary errors. Keep this in mind always as you complete future drafts. Great job!

      -Chloe

  4. Samuel,

    Glad our suggestions are helping you with your writing. As you continue to write, you will grow into a stronger writer. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

