Matched By Allie Condie Reviewed By Montana Frye

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

 

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

Why would you want someone to make your own choices for you? Don’t you want to be able to make your own choices? Well in Matched no one even stands a chance to make their own choices, the choices are made for them like their job their mate, etc. No one wants that, you need to know how to make your own choices.

This book was really not my favorite book I really didn’t get to finish it all, because it wasn’t a book that I was interested in. First off this type off book (dystopian) is not the kind off books I like to read, they just never have been the favorite type of books for me, then I can say that I did enjoy how the book changed things around with Cassia was it going to be Ky or Xander? There was another thing I enjoyed, the struggle Cassia had with choosing who she was wanting to make her life with.

Dystopian books, they really have never been a favorite of mine I can’t usually finish them because that’s not the books I’m interested in. This book I’m not a fan of the theme of a neighborhood where you have such strict rules. You can only have 100 paintings or art, only one thing that is passed down through your family, even the little tablets they have for emergincies. You are also not aloud to have poetry from the past or something Cassia’s grandfather gives her when he dies, poetry that she shouldn’t have and that may lead to trouble.

Also I did enjoy the love triangle between Cassia, Xander and Ky, it makes you wonder who will she go with, will she go for Ky or stay with her matched mate Xander? The only struggle with the thing between Ky and Cassia is that Ky is picked to not have a match but somehow he shows up on the computer screen on Cassia’s microchip of Xanders. How is it that his face appears on the screen no one knows, but it leads to a big change of mind for Cassia because she is thinking of maybe rethinking if she should stay with Xander. She had big choices to make. What really is going to go wrong is Ky is a abberition he is supposed to live single.

The struggle in the book was kind of interesting because you wanted to know what was going to happen. It really did not interest me that much but I know it would probably interest people who like books of this genre. The struggle between this is Cassia can’t be with Ky like she wants to be. The government is over their lives, they make the choices and they already have her matched with Xander. Just how the government is over all the society, they even decide when you die. This is really a very different society, they wouldn’t know what it was like to live in the real world where you make your own choices. They are used to not having to make their own choices they have them made for them.

Overall this book was ok but it is not my kind of book. I didn’t really finish all the book because I just couldn’t read it, it didn’t interest me. The way it was set up, they know when you die, who you will marry, where your going to work. I’m not big on these kind of books, the love struggle between Cassia and Ky was the only thing I found interesting. This book was not my favorite book but I know some people that would definately read and enjoy it.

3 responses

  1. I am glad that you are honest about your feelings towards this novel. You get a bit repetitive about how it did not hold your interest and it distracts me from the actual review. Maybe you could pick out aspects of the book that you did not like (the theme of lack of freedom, the constricted setting, etc.) to create your thesis then elaborate on them in your body paragraphs. You could balance out the negative with the characters and their interactions, which you discuss positively in this piece. I know it is difficult writing about a book that you did not enjoy, but your genuine response is appreciated. I like that you put so much of your own personal voice into your writing. I think this is a good starting point, and you do a nice job of getting all of your thoughts out in an effective way.

  2. Thank you i will really work on all the advice you have gave me on my next book review. So i can make it stronger and better and improve my grade. Thanks so much for all the good advice!

  3. Montana,

    I have to start out by saying that I respect and admire your honesty about disliking this book. That is certainly a reality that not everyone is going to love every book they read. Because you did not finish the book though, I am afraid that takes away some of your accuracy/credibility because it is hard to complete a review on a book that you did not fully read. On another note, I did love your opening quotation, I thought it was a great attention getter and definitely made me eager to learn more. One other suggestion would be to make sure to provide a summary from a reliable source (like amazon.com or goodreads.com). I hope some of this feedback helps!

Leave a comment