Matched by Ally Condie,Reviewed by Cody Adkins

 

Matched by Ally Condie

From Goodreads.com:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her:what to read,what to watch,what to believe.So when Xander’s face appears on the on-screen at her Matching ceremony,Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate…until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her that it’s a glitch,a rare malfunction,and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander.But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky,and as they slowly fall in love,Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice:between Xander and Ky,between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

What would it feel like to live in a society where the leaders make the decisions for you?What would it feel like to hardly have any freedom?These are the ideas challenged in Ally Condie’s book Matched,the first in a series that deals with love and broken hearts.Set in a dystopian society,the novel tells the story of a young woman who is in a relationship triangle with two young men who she both loves dearly.Her decision on who she wants to spend the rest of her life with could affect her and the society itself.While I enjoyed the entire novel,I most enjoyed the themes,setting,and vocabulary that it included.

I enjoyed the themes presented in this book,and I think some of these themes can relate to people in this world.Cassia,the protagonist in this novel,really doesn’t like the rules or beliefs in the society.The people in the society have no say on what goes on and they basically have no freedom.I thought to myself,what would it feel like to live in a world where people make decisions for you and you can’t do nothing about it.That changes in this book when Cassia sticks up for what she believes in and in the process breaks a couple of the rules.I really liked what the author did to make Cassia fight and not let the society get the best of her.
The setting was a second element that I really enjoyed in this novel.Like most dystopian novels,the setting is in the future.The place in this book is basically the same everyday because it is suppose to be perfect.They do have a place in this novel called The Outer Provinces.This is where Ky comes from,one of Cassia’s loves throughout the book.In my opinion,I really didn’t like the dystopian society because of how it is ruled.You should always live in a place where people know what is not going to happen the next day.Also,this setting might relate to the future that is ahead of us.For me as a reader,I really didn’t like the setting,but it was a good fit for the novel as a whole.

The third element of the novel that I most enjoyed was the vocabulary of the novel.While the vocabulary was meant for young adults,I thought the language was suitable and mature enough for any adult.It was not a lowered level type of vocabulary and it was written in a fine way.There is strong vocabulary and it fits it well throughout the novel.Since the setting is a dystopian society,there was a huge amount of futuristic word choice that helped create the setting.I honestly liked the vocabulary and language in this novel because it suited me well.Cassia and the other characters of the novel have a unique use of words that best sums up the themes and setting of the book.

Overall I really enjoyed the novel,and I intend to continue reading the series.I really want to know what happens with Cassia and how her future ends up in the society.I would recommend this book to young adults who like novels about relationships and people who fight for there true love.Any reader who loves romance and teen fiction would certainly love this book.Cassia Reyes is definitely a strong and courageous female who fights for what she wants.In my opinion,with its strong theme,unique setting and mature vocabulary,Ally Condie has created a winner in her book Matched.

Written by Cody Adkins

4 responses

  1. A friend told me about this book, and I’ve been meaning to read it! The positive way in which you described it made me want to read it even more. I liked how you thought about what life would be like in this type of society and how terrible it would be for the government to control who you must fall in love with. I hear you saying that you liked the theme of standing up for what you believe in, like Cassia, and that’s definitely an important theme in today’s young adult literature. I think more descriptions, specific events, and/or quotes would really help the readers of your review that have not read the book, like me, get an even clearer picture of what it is like without summarizing or giving away the whole plot. For example, a quote of the unusual dystopian language would be a very interesting addition to your writing since the vocabulary is so unique, as you said. I strongly encourage you to keep reading the series; many of my favorite books are in a series, and you develop such a connection with the characters that you just don’t get from an individual book.

  2. Dear Sarah, thank you for the helpful tips and suggestions. I saw where I needed to add more descriptions and quotes to help give a better understanding of the book. I took your advice and used it on my next book review. I was so happy to see that I did a good job on my paragraph about the theme. Mrs. Baisden has told us that the theme of a book and listing it in our reviews is very important to our book reviews. I was wondering on how I could use better quotes and descriptions to make readers understand the book more as a whole. Again, I really appreciate the advice and tips.

    Sincerely,
    Cody Adkins

    1. Cody,

      I’m glad you took my advice on using more descriptions and quotes in your next book review; I have definitely seen improvement in your writing. Mrs. Baisden is right: theme is very important because it shows whether or not you understood the purpose of a book. If there is a sentence or phrase that somewhat embodies a theme of this book, that would be a very effective quote to add to your review in order to help readers understand the book as a whole. I feel like you could put it in the intro, theme body paragraph, or the conclusion. Quotes can be anywhere in the paper as long as you explain the effect it has on the reader or the book as a whole.

      Keep up the good work!
      Sarah Ferrell

      1. Dear Sarah, thank you for the very helpful tips and suggestions. I was glad that you showed me that using more descriptions and quotes in my book review can really improve my writing as a whole. I took your advice and used more descriptions and direct quotes to give readers a clearer understanding on the body paragraphs of my book review. Again, I thank you for the helpful suggestions and I will make sure to use more quotes in my paragraphs.

        Sincerely,
        Cody Adkins

Leave a Reply

