Outsiders by S.E Hinton reviewed Ashton Marcum

                                      Outsiders by S.E Hinton

 

From Goodreads.com:

 

According to Ponyboy, there are two kinds of people in the world:greasers and socs.

 

 A soc (short for “social”) has money, can get away with just about anything, and has an attitude longer than a limousine. A greaser, on the other hand, always lives on the outside and needs to watch his back.

 

Ponyboy is a greaser, and he’s always been proud of it, even willing to rumble against a gang of socs for the sake of his fellow greasers–until one terrible night when his friend Johnny kills a soc. The murder gets under Ponyboy’s skin, causing his bifurcated world to crumble and teaching him that pain feels the same whether a soc or a greaser.

There’s two diffefrent groups in this world, and we all know it. That’s how things are these days. That’s what S.E Hinton’s book “Outiders” is based on. Who’s a greaser and who’s a soc.While I disliked the Novel, there were a few things that stood out to me the setting, vocabulary,and themes.

 
The setting in this story was the first element that stood out to me.This book was based on the past like 1950-60’s. When gangs formed and fights were breaking out around every corner. Would you feel safe walking around theses streets? One example of this is when Cherry from the socs falls in love with ponyboy, wich causes even more conflict between the two gangs.

 

The Vocabulary and language was the second element that stood out to me. As we know this book was based on the 50’s and 60’s, so the vocabulary was totally different. In this novel you read many words that you don’t really hear or see anymore. They used names auch as ponyboy, sodapop, cherry and gang names such as greasers and socs. I found the vocabulary very unique and different.

 

The third element that most stood out to me was the theme of the story. During the whole novel there was a rising conflict between the greasers and socs. What’s it like to be in a gang is the question throughout this book. In this book everyone figures out what gang they fit into, the greasers or the socs? It’s a conflict between the rich and poor. Even though the gangs are totally diffrent, does pain feel the same? Ponyboy finds out that no matter what you are, greaser or soc, the pain is still the same when losing somone close to you.

 

Overall I totally disliked the novel. I recommend this to people who love the action packed, anticipating kind of books. Throughout this book your constantly wondering, what’s gonna happen next?  Through the use of unique vocabulary, Unique setting, and unique themes, H.E Hinton has craeted a action packed, book that faces many life choices throughout it.

4 responses

  1. Ashton,

    I like that you have put your opinion out there from the beginning. This is a stylistic choice that will let your reader understand where all your future comments are coming from. I have some suggestions for you that will help make your writing even stronger.

    One important thing to pay attention to is your singular and plural words and make sure they agree. Your first sentence, “There’s two different groups in this world, and we all know it,” has this mistake. This is an easy mistake to make. “There’s” is a contraction of “There is.” Since we are referring to “two groups,” you should use “There are.”

    Another thing to note is your end marks. At one point, you wrote: “Who’s a greaser and who’s a soc.” In this sentence, you should end with question mark instead of a period since this is a question.

    I have a few suggestions based on the sentences below from your writing:
    “This book was based on the past like 1950-60′s. When gangs formed and fights were breaking out around every corner.”
    The first sentence, above, should be more specific. If the book is based on the 1960s (for example), you could rewrite it to look more like this: “The books setting took place in the 1960s.” The second sentence is a sentence fragment. You could combine this sentence with the previous one to avoid this mistake; for example: “The books setting took place in the 1960s when gangs formed and fights were breaking out around every corner.” You could be even more descriptive and insert the city in this sentence, to make the setting more detailed. An example of this would be: “The books setting took place in 1960s Oklahoma, when gangs formed and fights were breaking out around every corner.”

    Whenever you make a list of items and say, “such as,” you should follow “such as,” with a comma. For example: “They used names auch as ponyboy, sodapop, cherry and gang names such as greasers and socs.” After adding your comma, you should capitalize all proper nouns (such as Ponyboy) in this sentence. Another important note is to clarify the word “They.” Are you referring to the characters or the author (If referring to the author, you could say, “S.E. Hinton used names such as…”)? This will help your reader get a better grasp of what you mean.

    “Throughout this book your constantly wondering, what’s gonna happen next?”
    In this sentence above, there are a couple of mistakes to watch out for. The first one is your use of “your.” Since you are aiming for “you are constantly wondering,” you would actually use, “you’re.” The second is your end mark. This is a confusing style sentence to end, I know. Since you are stating that the reader is wondering “what’s gonna happen next,” you would use a period. The way you formatted this sentence puts it in the form of a statement, in this case. You would use a question mark if you quoted the question within the statement. An example of this would look like:
    Throughout this book, you’re constantly wondering, “What’s gonna happen next?”

    I have found a lot of very well-written sentences where you utilize great word choices (an example of this is your final sentence). I really think you finished your last paragraph very strong (which is hard to do, sometimes). I really enjoyed reading your book review. The suggestions I mentioned are to take this review from an already strong piece to an even stronger version. Good luck!

    1. Kara,
      Thank you so much for your feedback! Thank you for pointing out my singular and plural words that can be easy to mistake, on my next review I will make sure to read over and make sure they agree. I would also like to thank you for mentioning my last paragraph! Thank you so much for all of the tips I will make sure to use them in my next review, and make all of my paragraphs alot stronger!
      Sincerly,
      Ashton

  2. Ashton,

    You have a great start to your book review. I like that even though you state from the beginning that you dislike the novel that you remain impartial and discuss the book’s themes without being negative about it or stating what you didn’t like about it (which is something I would have struggled with in school).

    Some suggestions I have for you is to reread your draft before turning it in for next time. I noticed that you made a few typos/spelling errors in this review and by rereading it you can catch it for next time.

    I also want to suggest that you consider omitting this line from your first paragraph: “That’s how things are these days.” It doesn’t feel like it fits with the rest of the paragraph. You also need to fix the subject verb agreement in the first sentence by making it all plural, so it would read “There are” instead of “There is.” I would also reconsider the sentence “Who’s a greaser and who’s a soc.” I personally would use a comma to connect it to the previous sentence. By using these suggestions, your first two sentences would look more like this:

    “There are two different groups in this world, and we all know it. That’s what S.E Hinton’s book “Outsiders” is based on, who’s a greaser and who’s a soc.”

    The only other suggestion I have is to be more specific in your writing. When you say that the setting is “based on the past like 1950s-60s,” you should state one specific time period, which would be 1960s.

    I really enjoyed your forth paragraph in which you discussed the theme. I particularly enjoyed these few sentences: “It’s a conflict between the rich and poor. Even though the gangs are totally diffrent, does pain feel the same? Ponyboy finds out that no matter what you are, greaser or soc, the pain is still the same when losing somone close to you.” You are right. Whether we are rich or poor, pain is the same for everyone because we are all human. I think you put a lot of insight into this paragraph.

    You finished the review with a strong conclusion. I enjoyed reading your review and I look forward to reading your future pieces.

    1. Kellie,
      Thank you so much for your feedback! After rereading my review I realized that I had alot typos, and thank you for pointing that out because until you mentioned it I had no idea that there was any. Thank you for pointing out my fourth paragraph I felt that my fourth paragraph and my concluding paragraph were my strongest paragraphs. I will make sure to use all of your suggestions while writing my next review, and I will also make sure to reread my draft before turning it in. Thank you!
      Sincerly,
      Ashton

Leave a Reply

