Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson Edited by Emilee Evans

From Goodreads.com

Jess Aarons’ greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He’s been practicing all summer and can’t wait to see his classmates’ faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys’ side and outruns everyone. That’s not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits.

Smack did you hear that? That was Jess’s feet hitting the ground as he practices for his big run. The novel Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson is about a young boy named Jess who meets and young girl named Leslie who just moved in, they meet and become best friends and rulers of their imaginary kingdom Terabithia. Something tragic happens to Leslie and hurts Jess in a way he don’t know what do without her and goes to his sister for help. I disliked Bridge to Terabithia because I didn’t like the speed of the novel, the setting and the characters.

I disliked the speed in Bridge to Terabithia; I believe the book went by too slow. The author could have speed up the novel in so many ways, at the beginning of the book when they were talking about him preparing for his run and we he actually competed took about two long chapters. During those long chapters I got bored because I thought he was never going to run. Mainly I thought she stretched the novel out way more than she should have and by doing so I got bored and I felt that the book was repetitive.

I disliked the setting in Bridge to Terribitha because I didn’t think it was described well enough, and since Terabithia doesn’t exist no one knows what’s its suppose to look like. When Jess and Leslie talked about Terabithia I don’t think the author gave enough detail about it, I was sad that my imagination didn’t grow in this novel. At one point they disscussed about how they would protect the animals of Terabithia and kill anyone that would try to hurt them. Since Terribitha is a made up kingdom I was wondering if there were unique animals and mythical creatures in Terabithia, and I was also wondering about who would try to invade Terribitha I didn’t know if they were just normal humans or dangerous predators or different kinds of villains. Mostly I was just let down that mind couldn’t get the concept of what Terabithia looked like I really wanted know how Jess and Leslie pictured Terabithia and how they envisioned the creatures.

Lastly, I disliked how there wasn’t many characters in Terabithia since it is a make believe place.  I thought there could have been more interesting character’s to show the beauty of Terabithia.  I could picture this place being a forest full of animals with mystical powers the ability to talk.  I could imagine there being scary trolls, trees with faces and even magic fairies.  I think that this could have made the book more interesting and held my attention.  I like books that can take you to another place and make you feel as if you are right there where everything is taking place, as if I was a character in the story.

I disliked the novel Bridge to Terabithia and I wouldn’t recommend the novel to teenagers because if they are like me they would lose interest after a short time. I believe teenagers would feel this book is too immature for them. I would recommend this book for children between the ages of nine to twelve. I feel it might catch their imagination because they believe in fairy tales and magical places. I believe they would appreciate the speed of the novel, the setting and the characters more than what I did.

7 responses

  1. Hello, Emilee!

    Very nice to meet you, and to read some of your work. Overall, I thought this was a very good review with very good ideas. I was surprised that you took the “dislike” route with your book review, but I thought you did a great job working your way through your explanations. Allow me to give you some pros and cons:

    Pros: You did an excellent job describing what it is you wanted more of. I personally have never read this book, but being a very imaginative reader myself, it sounds like I would have been bored, too. Your explanation for the lack of description the author gave was very good. I could tell that the simplicity of the novel made it hard to read and enjoy for you. I also appreciated the details of what could have made this novel better. For readers who want trolls, fairies, and talking animals, you made it very clear this was not the book for them. Good job on creating your main three points, and supporting arguments for your points.

    Cons: I saw quite a few grammar and sentence structure errors. This can easily be fixed by taking extra time to read over what you have written, which I think is what you were lacking. Your writing is very thoughtful and interesting, but the errors can distract a reader, as well as confuse them. Don’t worry, I even need to revise my work, sometimes more than once. I also couldn’t tell in your introduction if you had an intended hook, or if you had quoted the book itself. Maybe make these details more specific next time. Actually, don’t be afraid of details. The more details from the book that you use to support your three points, the better. Also, the book title should always be italicized or underlined.

    Overall, this is a great start and I can tell that you are only going to get better in future reviews. Excited to read and see more of your work, and please don’t be shy about asking for help or advice. Talk to you soon! 🙂

    1. Dear Chloe,
      Thank you for giving me advice on how I need to work on my sentence structure and details. On my essay rubric Mrs. Baisden will leave comments on how I need to work on my sentence structure and to check my spelling and I loose points on sentence structure a lot more than I should,like you said I probally do rush and I should take time to reread my essay over a couple times to notice what errors I have made. So on my next essay I will work on my grammar and sentence structure and will reread my work a couple times so I can find simple mistakes I have over looked. Also you said that you couldn’t tell if I had a hook, what are some various hook lines that I could use in the future?
      – Thank You Emilee

      1. Emily,

        Like I said before, you are doing great so far and these are things ALL writers struggle with. To improve your hook, I would take a very attention grabbing detail and include it in the hook. Make it something that grabbed you and something you think would grab the readers, and then lure them in with it. For example:

        Do YOU like faraway and magical places? Then this is a book just for you. Read and find out!

        If you would like to know how children could manage to have their own secret and magic place, find out in Bridge to Terabithia! (The comment box won’t allow me to underline or italicize my text.)

        I know these are very rough and probably seem pointless because I myself haven’t read the story, and I could assume that your lack of a hook came from your distaste of the novel. In this situation, it would be hard to create a hook that draws people in when you are trying to tell people why not to read it.

        Does this help you?

        -Chloe

      2. Emilee*** not Emily. I am so sorry, I am not used to this spelling of your name and typed it incorrectly without reasoning. I have people do it to my name all of the time and I know how it feels, so I apologize for my lack of double checking my writing.

        Again, all writers make mistakes when they don’t properly reread their writing. Life lesson in learning!

  2. I was immediately interested when I saw that you gave this book a bad review, so kudos for being honest. I completely understand why you didn’t like the setting due to the lack of detail. I have never read this book in particular, but I know that fantasy books with make-believe worlds are sometimes difficult to read; when there is not enough detail, a reader gets frustrated by not being able to imagine everything that is happening. The point you made about the animals and who would hurt them is definitely confusing, so that was a very effective specific detail to support your argument. One issue that I noticed was sentence structure. I went to Logan High as well, so I know you might not have really learned about complex sentence structures (you will when you have Mrs. Ooten). Without punctuation, some of your sentences are run-ons. In the first sentence of the second paragraph, you correctly used a semi-colon. Use more! I use them all the time because they’re like weak periods that connect two sentences that are about the same idea. I know Mrs. Baisden would gladly give you more extensive advice about different things you could try. On a different note, I liked the way you recommended this book to children the ages of 9-12 because it’s more on their maturity level. If you read another fantasy novel, I hope you have better luck finding one you enjoy! Please respond to this if you have any questions or comments, and keep up the good work.

    1. Sarah,
      Thank you for understanding why I disliked this novel I just felt like I didn’t get enough detail. In my future review I will work on my punctuation and sentence structure because I loose points for that. If you know any good fantasy books that will catch my attention just let me know!
      -Thank You, Emilee

      1. Emilee,

        I see some of your classmates have read Cassandra Clare’s trilogy The Mortal Instruments (by the way, I would underline this if I could). I have only read City of Bones so far, but I really enjoyed it. I didn’t see the movie, but I heard the movie wasn’t nearly as good as the book. I’ve also read the Harry Potter series if you’re into those; the 6th and 7th books are my favorites. I hope you find a fantasy book that interests you since they take you to other worlds that no other genre can do!

        Sincerely,
        Sarah

Leave a Reply

