Cassandra Clare: City of Bones, Reviewed by Krista Ellis

From: Amazon.com

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in NYC, she hardly expects to witness a murder – much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizzarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. Its hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing – not even a smear of blood – to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first meeting with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk, within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The shadowhunters would like to know…

What would it be like to see things you never knew existed? Fifteen-year-old Clary Fray never expected to witness a murder committed by three teenagers with strange tattoos. After meeting the handsome Jace, Quiet Alec and beautiful Isabelle, Clary’s life changes so quickly it becomes a blur. Clary’s bestfriend Simon is dragged in this new world Clary begins to see. As the begin experiencing this new world, Clary and Jace begin to fall in love. I really enjoyed the novel and hope to read the other books in the series. The qualities I mostly looked for in this novel were the theme, setting and vocabulary and found all of it.

I have to be honest I didn’t really catch the theme in the beginning chapters, but I did catch it towards the end and it was ” Never judge someone until you know what they’re capable of.” In Clary’s world there is an unmarked country called Idris that is located between France and Switzerland, which is where Jace, Alec, Isabelle, Hodge, Jocelyn ( Clary’s mother), Valentine (Clary’s father) and Luke ( Jocelyn’s best friend) are originally from. In the beginning Clary is brought back to the Institute after her mother disappears. That is where she meets Hodge… Alec, Isabelle, and Jace’s mentor.

The setting was absolutely my favorite in City of Bones. It took place in the well known New York City today. Some of the places mentioned makes me want to go to New York myself and visit some of the palces it mentioned. Like the old Manhatton Cemetery where the City of Bones is located in one of the tombs, that Brother Jeremiah of the Silent Brothers, that Clary and Jace went to in order to help her regain her memories as a child. Or the old hospital on Roosevelt Island, where Clary and Luke go in search for Valentine and Jace. Even the greenhouse of the Institute,  where Jace and Clary  go for a picnic on her birthday, that Jace had set up for her birthday. It was incredible, I can imagine how wonderful New York is by the way Cassandra Clare wrote it.

Some of the vocabulary used had me rolling on the floor dying of laughter, while the rest of it had me on the edge of the seat, excited and ready to turn the page. Just like in Matched, I had a movie going on in my head, because the author used vivid descriptions. It was just amazing, and I fell in love with the novel and its characters like Jace and Simon. I really enjoyed it and I’m excited to read book number two: City of Ashes.

Drumroll please…( Drumroll)…. Overall the book was amazing. And since this is my time for inputs on the novel I chose I’ll admit it, I watched the movie before finding out that there are books that this is based on and I was instantly hooked. Okay, time to be serious again, this book is officially the number one book for me to go to at the moment, and I think that 99.9% of people who read this will really enjoy it. I highly recommend it to students who loves a good mystery. Cassandra Clare has a best-selling novel that she should be very, very proud of.

-K.L.Ellis

3 responses

  1. I truly enjoyed reading this book review. Not only did you touch on important points such as the theme, setting, and vocabulary but you did so in a creative manner. I also enjoyed the imagery I received from reading your writing such as “rolling on the floor dying of laughter, while the rest of it had me on the edge of the seat” it enhanced your writing and helped me to experience what you when you read the book. There are a few things that I would like to comment on, one being that it seems as though there are a few grammatical errors that have been made just within the first paragraph and I believe a short reread before submitting would have helped. Overall, I really enjoyed your paper and I believe you did a great job of portraying to me what you enjoyed the book as well.

    1. kristaleanneellis1998 | Reply

      Dear RHerb I really appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the creativeness I used in this review and I will make sure to keep it in future reviews. I also want to thank you for keeping a close eye on the grammar mistakes, because I am horrible at catching simple things like that if it looks right to me at first then I assume it is right until someone sees it after I didn’t so thank you, also Mrs. Baisden has caught me not using correct grammar and it helps to have other people just now reading this to notice those mistake immediately so thank you. I would like to ask for advice about how to keep a simple interesting without boring them to death because I am not very good at this but I want to be able to do this. Again thank you for pointing out my mistakes and I hope to talk to you again.
      -Krista xx

  2. kristaleanneellis1998 | Reply

    thank you so much 😀

Leave a Reply

