Divergent by Veronica Roth, reviewed by Jenna Meade

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Beatrice “Tris” Prior has reached the fateful age of sixteen, the stage  at which teenagers in Veronica Roth’s dystopian Chicago must select which of five factions to join for life. Each faction represents a virtue: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. To the surprise of herself and her selfless Abnegation family, she chooses Dauntless, the path of courage. Her choice exposes her to the demanding, violent initiation rites of this group, but it also threatens to expose a personal secret that could place in mortal danger. Veronica Roth’s young adult Divergent trilogy launches with a captivating adventure about love and loyalty playing out under most extreme circumstances.

 

Deciding which fraction was best for Beatrice Prior was one of her most difficult decisions that she has had to face.  Coming from the small fraction of Abnegation, her simple life of thinking for others hasn’t prepared her for the question she is about to face. This decision forms the outline of the rest of her life.  Her aptitude test scores states she is Divergent which promotes danger, danger in which she loves. Her passion for thrill leads her into the hands of Dauntless, Divergent.  While I have enjoyed the entire novel, I have mostly enjoyed the Setting, the plot, and the theme.

I have enjoyed the unusual setting of Divergent.  Like most Dystopian novels, Divergent is based in a city from the future, where the society has split into five fractions and the citizens are placed into the proper fractions based on their personalities. Each of the five fractions has its setting assisted on capturing the idea of the character’s personalities.  While reading, the author really had the ability to capture someone’s mind, I got so engrossed while reading the novel, I felt like I was in the actual scene.

The second element that I enjoyed is the plot.  The plot that is displayed in Divergent is when Tris has the choice to choose which fraction she wants to live in. She is then put into a situation where one fraction attempts to override the entire city and Tris has to stop it.  Divergent ends right in the middle of the climax which leaves out questions not answered.  So, this plot twist leaves me wanting more.

The last element in this novel that I found intriguing is the theme.  The overall theme of this book is where the main character, Tris, is being the hero and basically saving the city from destruction.  She has to take control and lead her pack into life or death situations and hopefully lead them out alive.  The message that I got from this is to trust your instincts.  She has had so many obstacles that has stood before which she has pasted and I do believe she as a leader will get through them and learn lessons which us as a reader will also learn and will also teach us life lessons.

I overall enjoyed the novel Divergent, and intend to keep reading the series.  With this novel and the climax ending, I can’t wait to read more!  I recommend this novel to teenagers looking for an action and somewhat romantic novel based in the future.  This is exactly what I look for in a book and I do believe many people will enjoy this novel.  With the unusual setting, plot, and the life lesson theme, Veronica Roth has created an extraordinary novel.

3 responses

  1. Wow! This sounded like an intense and exciting book. Can I just say I hate when a book ends at the climax! You did a great job writing your book review. Your introduction I felt like was strong bringing in part of the novel to help entice your reader was great. Also, I really liked how you gave your opinion as you were leading into your thesis this is great for your readers to hear what you have to say. Good job on saying precisely what you were going to talk about in your paper in your thesis. I really felt like all of your body paragraphs were very strong and you made some really good points. However, I would’ve liked to see you use some quotes from the book. For example, when you talk about setting maybe give a brief quote from the book that describes one of these places. Your conclusion was very good it summed up the points you made about setting, plot, and theme. Also, I could really tell you liked the book and your recommendation was great. Good job!

    1. dear, brown3court

      Thank you for your advice. My teacher has not mentioned using direct quotes from the book however I understand where it would help better my writing. I also can tell how it would engross my audience into my review. Mrs. Baisden has explained to me personally that I need to be more detailed and specific with my writing and hopefully with your advice I can advance. Although, I am having difficulties staying on topic with the statement that I want to get across, so if you have any advice for me, that would be great!

      I have done other book reviews lately and I tried using quotes from the story to detail the reader more about the book. And I can honestly say my scores have increased! I would have never thought to use quotes to show better detail. If you have any more tips about using detail, I could really use them.

      While I am writing, I think of everything I want to say. Therefore, I have my thoughts jumbled and I cant process my writing clearly. When I get ready to explain myself, I go blank. I have tried to write notes about each topic, although I still get off topic. Any advice would be great!
      thank you

  2. My thoughts get jumbled too when I write. For me I have found it helpful to write a first draft to sort of write everything down on the page. This is usually a mess and I get really discouraged about my writing, however, don’t give up this was your thinking draft. Therefore, you read through your first draft and figure out what you want to keep and what things you can throw out. Also, for me this helps me to reorganize my thoughts and figure out a way to word stuff better. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

