Matched by Ally Condie Reviewed by Krista Ellis

From: Amazon.com

 

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choice for her; what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching Ceremony, Cassia knows her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s  face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as the slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Wouldn’t it be nice if your true love was chosen for you? For me, personally, no it wouldn’t in any way be nice. I wouldn’t feel individual, and be forced into something I don’t want to be rushed into just yet. Ally Condie portrayed this in Matched, but the only difference is Cassia wants to go along with this. When she is matched with her best friend Xander, she gets a silver box containing a microcard that tells about her Match, and when she looks at it Ky Markham’s face appears on the screen, she is curious and starts spending time, then falling in love with him. While I was going crazy over this novel, I felt like I really was amazed the theme, setting and vocabulary.

I really don’t want to give away too much about about the novel, but I do have to tell about the theme. What the theme towards me was, “Fight for what you love, no matter what the lengths it takes you.” In the world Cassia lives in, who you are going to love the rest of your life is chosen for you and for a while she believes the Officials. When she is chosen as Xander’s match she, like I said, believes the Society made a right choice. But as she gets to know Ky more, little by little, every day she begins doubting the Society when she starts falling in love with him. She chose who she wanted to love and then went for it, and Ky did the same  by telling Cassia that he loved her.

The setting was very interesting, Like a lot of other dystopian novels, the setting is a city of the future, where something that happened in the past ruined what could’ve been completely different  from the readers know of. Some of the places Cassia goes is a pure symbol of her and Ky’s love for each other, like the top of the hill, for her is a spot the first admitted their love for each other and shared their first kiss together, that they had both ached for. Also after Cassia leaves the Society to go to the Outer Provinces, she lives on a farmland near where Ky was sent off to, which for her is a sign of determination out of the act of love.

The vocabulary in the novel was straight up incredible and so mindblowing, I couldn’t get enough of it. While the primary audience the author chose was for young adults, she was not in any way shy about her word choices, which I found, mind my British language, completely brilliant. Her vocabulary is strong and very unique and incredible. Her word choices were so vivid I had a movie going on in my head as I continued to read. Especially when Cassia was fighting her way to Ky when the Officials were taking him away, never to return. I’m not going to lie I cried because it felt so real.

Overall, I genuinely believed this book was absolutely brilliant, I couldn’t get enough of it. And I am really looking forward to reading the other two books. I really want to know if Cassia finds Ky and if anything tries to pull them away from each other if they do find each other. This novel officially has my blessing and I really think other students will enjoy it. I hope the other people who have read and enjoyed Matched really believe Cassia Reyes is a strong and determined character who fights for what she loves. Through the use of an incredible and relatable theme, a remarkable and unique setting and vivid vocabulary, Ally Condie has created has created a breathtaking novel called Matched.

-K.L.Ellis

Leave a Reply

