Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

From Goodreads.com:
Melinda Sordino busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, and people she doesn’t even know hate her from a distance. The safest place to be is alone, inside her own head. But even that’s not safe. Because there’s something she’s trying not to think about, something about the night of the party that, if she let it in, would blow her carefully constructed disguise to smithereens. And then she would have to speak the truth. This extraordinary first novel has captured the imaginations of teenagers and adults across the country.
Have you ever wondered what it was like to be an outcast? Melinda, the main character of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson is. This book was my favorite of our summer reading books. I mostly enjoyed this book because of the theme, setting, and the narration.
One of the things I enjoyed most was the theme. Through some reading, I concluded the theme as this: When you have a problem, tell someone. Nothing on earth is worth the greif and depression Melinda went through. She got to the point that she would cut herself to let the depression out. She didn’t feel like this after she told someone. This helped at the end of the book, and it is a very meaningful theme for a teenage book.

Another thing I loved about this book was the setting. Melinda’s home life wasn’t perfect, her friends hated her, and she could ride a bicycle to anywhere she wanted, or she could use public transportation. This made it easy for Melinda to get around in the book. She could go to the mall, or to school, or to her friend’s house. This all helped things take place in the story.
The entire book kept me enthralled by making the narration in first person. Being able to hear Melinda’s inner thoughts gave me a better view of the book. She described what she saw in her point of view, and it gave a better sense on how she thinks. Reading the book in first person made the book much better.
I enjoyed this book very much, especially because of the theme, the setting, and the narration. All of these elements made this book great. It really made me think about other people’s lives. I would recommend this book to any teenager or adult. This is a great book and I honestly enjoyed it.

2 responses

  1. Hi Lindsey.
    Wow this book sounds really interesting and important for teens and adults. It seems as though you definitely understood the power behind the words the Melinda spoke about how she felt, and what was troubling her. It would help your review a lot if you could add a few quotes throughout your body paragraphs to help enhance your writing. You nailed some really good points of the story, like being an outcast, having a problem and telling someone, and Melinda’s inner thoughts, so express some details about these parts of the book. Giving details and quotes to help support your own thoughts about the book will make the review even better. Describing the settings, the mall, her room, her school, etc will help someone that is thinking about reading the book connect with it. Overall good review, just think about details!

  2. This advise is really useful. I know I need to be more descriptive, but the way you said it would help my paper made me think about it more. Thank you for helping me!

    Details are obviously something I need to work on. On my feedback from Mrs. Baisden, she always says that I need more quotes and examples. This specific area is just something that I struggle in.

    I know my essays are not as descriptive as they should be, so I was wondering what kind of details readers would be looking for. If someone could tell me, I think it would help my reviews tremendously.

    Sincerely,
    Lindsey

Leave a Reply

