Prom by Laurie Haulse Anderson, reviewed by Georgianna Evans

Ashley Hannigan doesn’t care about the prom,but she’s the exception.Its pretty much the only good thing that happens in her high school ,and everyone else is excited about it.That is until the faculty advisor is busted for taking the prom money ,and Ashley finds herself roped into putting together prom out of absolutely nothing.But with friends and family helping her out maybe prom won’t totally suck after all.

Sited source.   From the cover of the book.

 

The book that I’m reviewing is called “Prom”by Laurie Halse Anderson.THe book was a great book, it is just like what teenagers do for fun today.There is a little too much sadness near the end for me. But at the very end the book gets happy again.The book had a great theme,good detailed setting,and a good vocabulary.

 

The main point to the book “Prom” is a mischievous math teacher stole all the money from prom committee. The prom committee crystal,because prom was canceled  at first.But Ashley Hannigan claims she hates prom ,but she volunteers to help,out on prom committee.Without Ashley prom would not have happened.The theme to the book was don’t trust one person too much.

 

The authors use of vocabulary was great.the author used great language skills ,the vocabulary was good,a favorite sentence of mine from the book used by Ashley Hannigan.”I hate prom,but I like it listening to all the buzz about prom kills me.The authors wordplay worked out great for her.I really enjoyed the vocabulary and how the author made  the  words make sense in there own ways.

 

Prom had many different settings.Most of all the actions done in the book took place at the school,Ashley’s home,and at the mall.The time period in the book was just like it happened yesterday.The author did a fantastic job with describing all the places in detail.Ashley says in the book that at her school they have security guards ,metal detectors,and plenty of rules.

 

In the book ” Prom” a lot happened to make the ending rather sad ,but at the very end everything was straightened out.I liked the book at first it was great  but there was a lot of crying over the prom .The rest of the book it’s theme setting ,and vocabulary were all great.I would recommend this book to someone who likes to read about present day teenage problems.

3 responses

  1. This book sounds like a great book really reminded me of the movie “Prom” I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but it’s a great movie. First off I really felt like you had some strong points in writing your book review. Your thesis was clearly stated, which is always a great thing to do to let your reader know what you are going to talk about. Great job! However, one suggestion would be to organize your body paragraphs in the order you mentioned each of your topics in your thesis. Your second body paragraph was very strong I loved how you started this paragraph stating exactly with what you are going to talk about. Also, the use of the quote from the book really helped to back up the points you were making. In your conclusion I liked how you gave a nice recommendation and you briefly hit upon the theme, setting, and vocab you mentioned it, but didn’t dwell on these items that was great. Overall, great job on your book review!

    1. Thank You brown3court for telling me what I did wrong ,and what I did right.In my next post I’ll be sure to fix the organization in my body paragraphs.On the rubrics for the book reviews Mrs. Baisdon has told me to organize my body paragraphs.For my next review I would really appriciate it if you could help me with staying on topic,because I think what I write goes together but it doesn’t. Thank you so much!

      Sincerly,Georgianna

      1. Glad I could help. The ideas were all really solid the organization is something I struggle with as well so keep at it and don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

