Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks. Reviewed by Abby Lee.

   Nights In Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks

From Amazon.com: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks comes a tender story of hope and joy, of sacrifice and forgiveness-a moving reminder that love is possible at any age, at any time, and often comes when we least expect it. At forty-five, Adrienne Willis must rethink her entire life when her husband abandons her for a younger woman. Reeling with heartache and in search of a respite, she flees to the small coastal town of Rodanthe, North Carolina, to tend to a friend’s inn for the weekend. But when a major storm starts moving in, it appears that Adrienne’s perfect getaway will be ruined-until a guest named Paul Flanner arrives. At fifty-four, Paul has just sold his medical practice and come to Rodanthe to escape his own shattered past. Now, with the storm closing in, two wounded people will turn to each other for comfort-and in one weekend set in motion feelings that will resonate throughout the rest of their lives.

Swoosh! That’s the sound Adrienne and Paul heard as they look deeply into each others eyes during the eyebrow raising storm in the small costal town of Rodanthe, North Carolina. This novel turns a simple love story into an eye popping thriller. We think divorce would be horrible but, two middle age people turned a bad situation into a quiet good one until something tragic happens! In this “want to read” novel I respectively enjoyed the characters, the narration, and the setting.

I enjoyed the characters in this book, and kept wanting to read more! Adrienne Willis middle aged women was portrayed very well. They detailed her out to be a conservative , emotionally hurt woman with a very rough past. I believe Nicholas Sparks done a terrific job at letting us not only envision her with details but, feel her emotions also. Not only did he portray Adrienne’s character he done a fantastic job at including Paul’s character and her daughters. Nicholas done an amazing job!

I also enjoyed how the narration was sought out to be in Adrienne’s character mostly through out the book. I believe that if this novel was narrated in the mind set of Paul all through this book it wouldn’t as been as interesting. Since it was wrote mainly in the mind set of Adrienne’s point of view we ended up getting most of the “mushy” detail of a woman and not so much of the so called “heartless” side of a man. I think Nicholas sparks done a phenomenal job with the narration in this book.

I mostly enjoyed the setting in this novel. Everything from Adrienne watching the Inn for her friend to her and Paul’s moonlight walk on the beach, everything fell into place. If this book was set in any other setting I believe this book wouldn’t be as interesting. The setting set the romantic feel to the novel. I think placing this novel at the beach was a lovely idea.

Overall this book was great. If I was rating this book I would give it 5 stars out of 5. I wouldn’t recommend this book for a class read because of the grave detail that this story does include. Nicholas Sparks done an amazing job at portraying the characters, the setting , and the narrations!

4 responses

  1. Abby,
    Let me start out by saying, great work! You did a nice job of balancing out the summary and the analysis of the novel. I thought your content throughout the book review was spot on! You had a nice introduction with a strong thesis that you stuck with throughout the review. I would recommend that you re-read your review aloud and see if you can’t find some areas that need some revising, especially with your subject verb agreement. A sentence that I think could be better written by adding some commas and fixing a typo is in your paragraph where you discuss the novel’s characters. You wrote: “Adrienne Willis middle aged women was portrayed very well.” I would suggest adding a comma to slow down the sentence and to change ”womEn” to “womAn” (since we are only talking about one person). For example, “Adrienne Willis, a middle-aged woman, is portrayed well throughout the novel.” As I mentioned earlier, there are several subject verb agreement errors. (At least three in the paragraph about characters) In your last sentence of the review you wrote: “Nicholas Sparks done an amazing job at portraying the characters, the setting , and the narrations!” This should be revised to, “Nicholas Sparks DID an amazing job…” I think if you were to focus on watching out for your subject verb agreements, your writing would hugely benefit. It is a hard concept to grasp so don’t get discouraged, just practice and overtime you will start to see the change in your writing! Great job overall though Abby! Keep up all your hard work!
    P.S. I too have read this novel and would agree with you about giving it 5 stars!!!

  2. Abby!

    You did a wonderful job on your summary. I am personally a huge Nicholas Sparks fan and a sucker for anything romantic and sappy. I haven’t read this novel of his, however you left me with enough information that I did want to pick it up and read it. You also managed to leave enough mystery and not give away too many details, which is something that is tricky to do. Great work! There were some grammatical errors that occurred throughout the review that I want to point out so that you know how to fix them. The content was so great that I would hate for little errors to take away from the overall review. There were a couple places where subject verb agreement problems took place, specifically with the word “done,” such as when you write “Nicholas Sparks done an amazing job.” This is something a lot of people mix up, so just be sure to try to keep an eye out for that, and some others. Just a little proofreading and practice with subject verbs (which are always tricky) will really help to improve your writing! Great work, girl! Keep it up!

  3. Dear Kaytlin A.,
    I have realized that some of my subject and verb agreements needed fixed. In the works I have done since this essay I have used your advice a lot. I especially have reread my essays more than once! Mrs. Baisden has actually mentioned about my subject and verb agreements. Thank you for the advice! It’s helped me a lot.

  4. Ms. Boles!

    First, I want to thank you about mentioning that I have did very well with adding details but keeping everything else a mystery. Also, I want to thank you for mentioning my subject and verb agreement issues. I realize this is been happening a lot. So, I have been rereading my works more often. I would like if you would point out these mistakes more often if they occur again. I would really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

