Fallen by Lauren Kate: book review by Hannah White

From Goodreads.com :

 

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce

 

he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

“What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?” What if a kiss could kill the one you love? What if you were cursed to see your beloved die every seventeen years? We have our hearts broken a radical amount of times in our lives, but mostly by different people, right? Imagine having your heart broken by the same person every seventeen years, but for a reason that you can’t fix with a million flowers or a billion kisses. Lauren Kate’s supernatural series Fallen has heartily won me over with it’s inspirational characters, astonishing plot, and dramatic theme.

Everyone has that one character that they can connect with on a personal level, those kind of characters that inspire us through personal experiences. Luce has an unusual story that curruptly haunts her on a level so strong that it terrifies her into not even wanting to speak of it. Something so unfathomably deep picks at her mind the second she wakes up to the sheep she counts before bed. She’s a one man army fighting with the shadows in her head, but she thought she was the only one that was in the battle. Her private thoughts eat at the core of her soul from overthinking, and I can relate to that more than anyone would understand. Then there’s Daniel, the boy who shelters himself from the world as if it’s not there; as if nobody deserves to be capable of having any sort of knowledge of him and his story, because he doesn’t want anybody being risked. He loves Luce unconditionally time and time again, and it never gets old to him, but she doesn’t know that. He makes Luce seem insane when she’d confront him about having the feeling of knowing him some time before; Daniel was the perfect liar with a perfect front. They’d known so much about each other, but with the fear of foolishness and irrational truth, they fell in love quietly, then all at once.

The main reason I found the plot so amazing is because it’s not a story that you read every now and then. I’ve never read anything with this kind of conflict. Daniel was cursed for all of the wrong reasons. He lived forever but that wasn’t the lousy part of it all. What really made me love this book was the fact he watched her die every seventeen years. No matter how hard he’d try to hide from her, she’d always find a way to him. It was fate, and I really enjoy that, because whilst reading this book it’s like I could feel the connection between the two of them. Books like this makes me wonder why life can’t have love like that. Now a days, everyone is constantly arguing and never loving. When Daniel explained what the shadows were to her, that they couldn’t hurt her, that’s whenever the fight broke out, and I could genuinely feel the hurt in her as I read the chapter when she had to leave him to fend for himself. It broke my heart imagining all of the things that could happen, because romance novels is always difficult for the reader. It’s basically us forcing ourselves to feel every emotion that the narrator has. The confusion, the lust, the pain; we can feel it all and it tears us apart. That’s why I enjoy reading so much, and especially with Fallen. Readers can live all of the lives they want and resume to which ever they decide to feel next.

What made the theme so dramatic in this book makes me refer back to the conflict of the story. I feel like there was more than one theme of Fallen, substantially because the story began sluggishly and for the most part of the book I never understood exactly what was happening or what the climax was going to be. So when the climax came, it blew me off of my feet. The only thing that I could gather in my head entirely whilst finishing this book, was that I should never expect something particular from somebody simply because I feel as if I know them personally. There wasn’t an exact theme, and I’ve come to that conclusion because it jumped around; it had no basic theme. It was a great book, I have to admit. Most reviews I’ve read hadn’t enjoyed it and I can see why they hadn’t, because it reminded me a lot of the Twilight series by Stephani Meyer. Not many people like the Twilight books, but I enjoyed those a lot, as well. I’m a sucker for romance and supernatural. This book didn’t entirely add up, so hopefully whenever I order the next book to the series, it’ll make more sense and I’ll be eligable to explain further.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and my goal is to finish the series, because the ending really leaves you guessing. I would definitely recommend this book to any Twilight fans or anyone who enjoys romance or supernatural books for that matter, mainly young adults. I would also like to recommend this book to anyone who’s trying to venture into detailed novels, because this book has definitely had a wonderful setting thankfully to the descriptive view that Lauren Kate has shared with us. It wasn’t my favorite book, but it made me want to know more, and that’s good enough for me. I can honestly say that Fallen is a great book thanks to it’s characters, plot, and theme.

One response

  1. Hannah,

    Great review. I think that you explained your points well – I would have liked to see some actual quote from the text (maybe when you are describing specific moments). Your summary at the beginning of your review needs to be reviewed for format – with all the spacing it’s hard to tell when the summary ends and when your review begins, easy fix. I really enjoyed your introduction, it really caught my attention and made me want to know more about the book. Look at your transitions a little more – you jump pretty rapidly between your ideas, maybe try to find a connection that could tie them all together? I would also suggest thinking a little more about the theme(s) of the novel. I think that what you are discussing in terms of the jumping around falls more into the category of format. I have not read Fallen, but from your summary and review I get the sense of an “everlasting love” theme. I like that you let your readers know that this book is the first of a series and that it concludes with some unanswered questions. Overall, this review is looking really good.

    Keep it up,
    Jessica Kuhn

Leave a Reply

