Marked by P.C. Cast reviewed by Alyson Green

 

 


                                                                                         Marked by P.C. Cast

 

From Goodreads.com:

“     The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird’s world, vampyres have always existed. In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire — that is, if she makes it through the Change. Not all of those who are chosen do. It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny–with a little help from her new vampyre friends.”

Have you ever thought about what it would be like to become a vampyre? Zoey never thought that she would wake up one morning with  a mark on her head not only identifying her as a vampyre but changing her entire life for the better but she did. In the book Marked by P.C. Cast Zoey’s whole world is changed upside and totally twisted. She becomes a vampyre and if that isn’t enough she becomes one of the most powerful ones! Although getting there was not easy Zoey made a lot of great memories and friends through the journey. Something she will never forget! I hope that every one who reads this book enjoys the setting, theme, and plot as much as I did! They’re so many different experiences in this book that I totally suggest to any reader who is interested in a creepy “ on edge” book.

The setting in this particular book was very mysterious. Zoey went to school feeling very ill one morning. Thinking she was only sick was a big mistake. What was actually wrong was that Zoey had been marked and was now in training to become a vampyre. This means Zoey had to pack up and go to the House Of Nights. The House Of Nights is a very creepy and scary place for any human. Although for vampyres it was home and that was where Zoey’s new home was. Zoey went to many school events. She went to a ritual held by Nxy her mentor. The ritual was held in a dark room that was only lit by candles. The room was very smokey and smelled of four different elements, earth, fire, water, and spirit. Zoey went to several of these rituals and enjoyed them very much. I think the setting is very much intriguing and scary.

Although I thought the setting was great I really thought the theme was spectacular. The story revealed that what goes around comes around and that Zoey was good and good things happened to her. Although this doe not mean she didn’t have to work for them because she surely did! So many problems got in her way. A horrid vampyre girl named Aphrodite who wanted nothing more than to be the next High Priestess of the Dark Daughters group. Aphrodite tried everything in her power to get Zoey to feel unwelcome. As much as she tried though Zoey ended up becoming High Priestess and stealing Aphrodite’s ex-boyfriend. I think the theme taught us to always do good and good things will happen. I really enjoyed the theme to this book.

Like most books I read the plot sticks out the most to me. I think that in this book the main problem is that Aphrodite want’s all of the power and Nxy is making sure that Zoey is the one who gets it. I think the reason being is because Zoey is from a long line of Cherokee women who have done this for many generations. Aphrodite is a selfish person who only thinks of herself and that is not what the vampyres need in a leader! Nxy made a great decision by giving Zoey all the power. Zoey really proves she is worthy of this power when she casts a spell and makes all of the bad demons go away at a ritual. By doing this she saved her ex- boyfriend and her new friend. Nyx saw this and granted her the honor of being High Priestess. I think the plot is astounding.

Finally I conclude this review by saying this book was amazing. I think that anyone who likes creepy book that have a lot of detail should read this. I think this book is best for older teenagers that have a thing for vampyres. The book is a lot better if the reader believes in vampyres! I believe that any reader will enjoy the setting, theme, and plot as much as I did.

2 responses

  1. Hi Allyson,
    I can always tell from your writing that you fully grasped what you read. This is always great! I really enjoyed the way this book spelled certain words like vampyres and Nxy. As always, I would suggest that you read your paper out loud to yourself or even to someone like a parent or friend. It sounds silly, but it really does work. That is how I personally catch many of my typos or mistakes. You have definitely improved with the use of transitions. Good for you! If you ever have any questions, feel free to ask. I will do my best to answer them for you!

    1. Hi Christina,
      I am very happy you commented about my use of transition words! I have worked very hard on them but I still feel they could use some work. I can’t quite grasp the concept for a good introduction sentence. If you have any tips on how I could really grasp the readers attention with a good introduction sentence that would be very helpful! Also you said that you liked how the book spells certain words such as vampyres and Nxy and I do also, but I was wondering that when writing a report should I spell them the same way or not? I don’t believe I remember my teacher ever talking to the class about that. Thank you for all your helpful tips an I plan on using them in my next essay!

Leave a Reply

