Angel by James Patterson. Reviewed by Abby Lee.

Angel by James Patterson

From Amazon.com : Max Ride and her best friends have always had one another’s backs. No. Matter. What. Living on the edge as fugitives, they never had a choice. But now they’re up against a deadly force that’s racing across the globe, and just when they need him the most–Fang is gone. He’s creating his own gang that will replace everyone–including Max.

Max is heartbroken over losing Fang, her soul mate. Her closest friend. But with Dylan ready and willing to fight by her side, and she can no longer deny that his incredible intensity draws her in. Max, Dylan, and the rest of their friends must soon join forces with Fang and his new gang for an explosive showdown in Paris that’s unlike anything you’ve ever imagined . . . or read.

Wonder what would happen if someone came up to me and told me I had to save the world? Hmmm, I’m not actually not sure what I would, but neither did Max. Max, Dylan, and Angel were totally shocked when their doctor told them the world was in danger and since they were Gen77 kids it was their job to save it. In this novel I enjoyed lots of things. I mostly enjoyed the details, the plot, and the genre.

Between the madness of saving the world and the madness of Max and Fang’s ending love, somehow author James Patterson detailed the characters amazingly. In this novel I felt like I could imagine exactly what each character looked like. I could sense the jealousy between Fang and Dylan. I felt that I was saving the world with both groups. If I could give the author an award for best detailing so far James Patterson would win!

In this novel another aspect I enjoyed was the plot. I believe every little thing fell perfectly in place in the plot. From beginning to end it was spectacular. I honestly haven’t read a scientific fiction book that flowed so well together. The only thing I had a little trouble catching on to was how the narration of Fang and Max would alternate in some chapters. Sometimes I would have to figure out who was actually speaking because it wasn’t so clear at first. Overall, the plot was amazing.

Let’s get one thing straight… I’m not really much on Scientific fiction usually. I really enjoyed this book, though. I think the novel was classified perfectly. I can’t get over how great this book was. I think the love story mixed with “fixed” kids and doomsday was just a lovely combination!

I really enjoyed this novel. I think overall this book needs to be read in all first year high school classes. Not only is it a thriller, but some people could probably relate to the small love story that’s mixed into it. I rate this book a  5 out of 5 stars. The plot, the characters, and the genre was fantastic!

2 responses

  1. Abby,

    Nice job giving your perspective on the book! I really also enjoyed the summary you chose to use at the beginning. I think there are a couple things you could work on to improve your reviews. While, you covered everything that was in your thesis, I think it may improve your writing if you embellished more on each topic. Go into a little more detail about each thing addressed in your thesis as to give the reader more information, rather than simply touching on the subject. Also, be sure to proofread, there were a couple typos or missing words. I also noticed a subject verb agreement in regards to the use of “was” instead of “were” in the last sentence of the review. Good job with your enthusiasm toward the book! It would definitely make me want to read it, and I am not much of a sci-fi reader either. Keep up the hard work!

  2. Elyse,
    I have been working on adding for detail and information from my books into my reviews. Sometimes I believe I am adding to much detail when I am actually not adding enough details. I have also had trouble in the past with my subject verb agreements, but I would like to thank you for pointing that out for me. I have also started to proofread my work more often than I have been in the past. I would most defiantly tell anyone to read this book and I am so glad you enjoyed it. I would like to hear more of what you have to say in my next reviews!

Leave a Reply

