Beneath the Glitter by Elle & Blair Fowler Review by Alyssa Marcum

Beneath the Glitter

 

 

Barnsandnobles.com- From internet stars Elle and Blair Fowler comes a scintillating new novel that takes readers Beneath the Glitter of the glitzy L.A. social scene.

Welcome to a place where dreams are made.  And where nothing—and no one—is ever what it seems.

After their make-up and fashion videos went viral on YouTube, sisters Sophia and Ava London are thrust into the exclusive life of the Los Angeles elite.  Here fabulous parties, air kisses, paparazzi and hot guys all come with the scene. Sophia finds herself torn between a gorgeous bartender and a millionaire playboy and Ava starts dating an A-list actor.  But as they’re about to discover, the life they’ve always dreamed of comes with a cost.

Beneath the glitter of the Hollywood social scene lays a world of ruthless ambition, vicious gossip…and betrayal.  Someone closes to them and they trust is working in the shadows to bring the London sisters down. Once the betrayal is completed, Sophia and Ava find themselves knee-deep in a scandal that could take away everything they care about including the one thing that matters most—each other.

 

The book Beneath the Glitter by Elle and Blair Fowler is probably one of my favorite books of all time. I am personally a “Girly-Girl” so I really enjoyed this book and the beauty theme. The things that stood out the most in this book to me were the authors of this book, the details in this book, and the concept of this book. I love that the authors of this book are famous YouTubers because I feel like it gives me a chance to get to know more about them and it makes them stand out from other authors. I really enjoyed the details in this book because the more details you have, the easier the book is to get into. Lastly, I found the concept of this book very interesting. In this book it is a mixture of different genres and that makes it very interesting.

The first thing that stood out about this book was who the authors are. The authors aren’t just famous YouTubers but they are also sisters. I have watched the sister’s YouTube videos for almost two years now and I already knew a lot about them before I read this book. They have made makeup and beauty videos for almost 4 years now. Allthatglitters21 also known as Elle Fowler currently has over 1,150,000 subscribers and 421 videos. Her sister, juicystar07 also known as Blair Fowler has over 1,500,000 and has 389 videos.  I have enjoyed their videos and I will continue to watch them.

The second thing I enjoyed about this book was the amazing details. I love when a book gives so much detail that you feel like you are seeing the movie in your head. As I read this book, I used the background information that I knew about their lives to help me understand the book a little better. I realized throughout this book there where little things the authors added that has to correspond with the sisters their lives.

The last thing that really captured my attention was the whole concept of this book. This book is very different from other book I’ve read before. It connects the authors’ lives right into the book, such as in an autobiography, but it also has a mixed genre of a romance and crime. In the beginning of this book, it connected to the authors. Example, the character Ava was the younger character with brown hair and she had a little dog named Popcorn and the older character, Sophia, had blonde hair and had a kitten. In Blair’s life she is the younger sister with brown hair and she has a little dog but instead she named it Teddy and Elle is the older sister who has a kitten named Pinecone. Another example in the book is they get discovered and create their own makeup line, just like in really life. In the story, it goes from a story based off of their lives, then it adds in a little romance in the middle and toward the end of the book it becomes a crime novel.

At the end of this book, it had a kind of a questionable ending. What I mean by questionable ending is that, by the end of the book, it gives you information that won’t be revealed until the next book. The second book came out in August and I will diffidently be reading it sometime soon. It is titled Where Beauty Lies. The ending of this book leaves you wondering what is going to happen next and leaves you wanting more.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

