City of Glass by Cassandra Clare Reviewed by Krista Ellis

To save her mother’s life, Clary travels to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – nevermind that by doing so she is breaking the Law, which could mean death. Even worse, Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by Shadowhunters who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who an ally in the mysterious Sebastian, who holds a strange attraction for her. As Valentine musters a demon army, can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their ancient hatred and work together? And can Clary harness her newfound powers to help save them all – whatever the cost?

In the third book of the City of Bones series, Clary and the gang travel to the Shadowhunter homeland of Idris, even though Jace doesn’t like the idea of Clary going to Alicante, Idris’s capitol and only city. We meet dome new characters too, like Luke’s sister Amatis, the new Inquisitor and Jace, Isabelle and Alec’s childhood friends, the lovely and very striking Aline and tall and handsome Sebastian. Although I really enjoyed everything, I really liked the setting and the vocabulary but didn’t catch the theme, which kind of confuses me a bit about what it is though… anyway lets continue.

Lets start out with discussing the setting. I actually really liked it, but I’m not gonna lie I was actually thinking it wasn’t going to like it, I completely changed my mind after reading the novel. Anyway I did really enjoy the nove, where it started out in New York and within 4 to 5 chapters into it, the characters were in Idris. And thanks to the great vocabulary, it was easy to visualize what Alicante is like, Old-fashioned and classy. I hope to get more of a good setting in the next book in the series. I would like to visualize more of The City of Glass, Alicante.

Next lets talk about the absolutely brilliant vocabulary choices Cassandra Clare uses. I am absolutely in love with it because it is easy to visualize what is going on in the novel. Lets just say if I can envision what is going on, on the page I easily fall in love with the novel. And if a  novel has a series to it then I’ll have a reading palooza in my room. I remember in the book where the big battle scene between the Shadowhunters and Valentine’s demon army, I love the fact that the author had described Magnus and Alec fighting about Magnus wanting to meet Alec’s family, because Magnus is in love with Jace and then out of nowhere a few dozen demons show up, then Alec says “If we survive this you can meet my entire family.” It was full of humor in a serious situation which I thought was just brilliant.

Then last but certainly not least, it’s time for the theme. I really didn’t like it because I can’t really figure out what it was. Now if i would have figured it out then I probably would have liked it more. But since I didn’t we’ll never know. Although if I could have figured out what it is, I would say it is “Fight for what you believe is right.” Because it is the same story line as the first two books. But in a way I think it is a strong message to give.

Overall… I really enjoyed City of Glass and recommend it for other students because I really think they will enjoy it. Due to its wonderful setting, visual vocabulary and mysterious theme I believe Cassandra Clare really has talent with her writing and is very creative. She is now one of my favorit authors to look up, and I just want to say She has done an incredible job with making people happy.

-K.L.Ellis

Leave a Reply

